Meeting History


 How to Apply




 Edinburgh Festival


A list of confirmed participants may be found here

The SUSSP66 Final Report is now available for download here


This ten-day summer school aims to bring together PhD students and young postdoctoral researchers from a diverse range of fields relevant to the study of ultrafast nonlinear optics.

The core programme will consist of lectures by internationally renowned experts, supplemented by workshops, poster presentations and informal discussion sessions. The programme aims to enable the exchange of new ideas across these fields

Topics include:

Attosecond generation and high-field science

Ultrafast quantum control

Characterization of ultrashort optical pulses

Femtosecond frequency combs & applications

Advances in ultrafast laser sources

Applications of ultrafast lasers in biomedical imaging

Materials processing using ultrafast lasers

Ultrafast nonlinear fibre optics

Coherent X-ray imaging

Ultrafast laser refractive index modification & applications

Nonlinearity & wavelength conversion in fibres

Applications of ultra-intense short laser pulses

Tunable ultra-broadband pulse generation & applications


Distinguished lecturers (confirmed to date):

Prof. Ursula Keller (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

Prof. Ken Ledingham (University of Strathclyde, UK)

Dr Thomas Udem (Max-Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, Germany)

Prof. Jon Marangos (Imperial College London, UK)

Prof. John Dudley (Université de Franche-Comté, France)

Prof. Margaret Murnane (JILA, USA)

Prof. Jeff Squier (Colorado School of Mines, USA)

Prof. Giulio Cerullo (Politecnico de Milano, Italy)

Prof. Ian Walmsley (University of Oxford, UK)

Prof. Stefan Nolte (Universität Jena, Germany)

Dr William Wadsworth (University of Bath, UK)

Prof. Phil Bucksbaum (Stanford University, USA)

Prof. Wilson Sibbett (University of St Andrews, UK)

Prof. Ajoy Kar (Heriot-Watt University, UK)


The School will also feature an 'Industry Focus' event

This will feature a keynote address from Thomas M. Baer (Stanford University, USA & President of the Optical Society of America)




The main Heriot-Watt University campus is situated in Edinburgh, approximately 6 miles from the city centre.  All lectures and many social events in the School will be held in Heriot-Watt's new state-of-the-art Graduate Centre, opened in 2009.  As well as a fully-equipped auditorium, the Graduate Centre provides a variety of social and study areas for the students, all enabled with WiFi access.


Full fee for the 10 day Summer School, including all meals and single, en-suite accommodation is £950.

Bursary awards of up to £475 are available to qualifying PhD students and early stage postdocs.

International scientific organizing committee

Prof. Jonathan Knight (University of Bath, UK)

Prof. Majid Ebrahim-Zadeh (ICFO, Barcelona, Spain)

Prof. Günter Steinmeyer (Max Born Institute, Berlin, Germany)

Dr Scott Diddams (NIST, USA)

Prof. Uwe Morgner (Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität, Hannover, Germany)

Dr Christophe Dorrer (University of Rochester, USA)

Prof. Andreas Tünnermann (Universität Jena, Germany)

Prof. Wilson Sibbett (University of St Andrews, UK)

Dr Helen Margolis (National Physical Laboratory, UK)

Local organizing committee

Prof. Derryck Reid (Heriot-Watt University, UK)

Dr Dave Townsend (Heriot-Watt University, UK)

Dr Henry Bookey (Heriot-Watt University, UK)

Dr Robert Thomson (Heriot-Watt University, UK)